My New House!

…But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD — Joshua 24:15

I moved into the YAV house in New Orleans yesterday. My dad and I took a long 3-day road trip together from Tucson to New Orleans. We spent the second day wandering around San Antonio, and it was a nice break from driving.

The Alamo

The Alamo

My dad and me on a river boat tour of the San Antonio River

My dad and me on a river boat tour of the San Antonio River

On Thursday we drove from San Antonio to New Orleans and it was stressful. Texas got a lot of rain on Thursday and it made driving on the highway difficult. I could not see more than a few feet in front of me.

The rain driving through Houston

The while rain driving through Houston

On Friday afternoon, we arrived at the YAV house. I was afraid that I had overpacked but there was room for all of my stuff (minus my winter clothes which I kept in my suitcase). I will be living here with 7 other YAVs. I am excited to get to know my housemates and start working here in NOLA, but first we will by flying to Stony Point, NY for YAV Orientation.

Here are some pictures of the YAV house:

house

The front of our house. I love the color.

My half of the bedroom. I bought the yellow quilt without knowing my room would be yellow. It worked out perfectly!

My half of the bedroom. I bought the yellow quilt without knowing my room would be yellow. It worked out perfectly!

The dining/living rooms

The dining/living rooms

Please keep us in your prayers as we travel to and from orientation and learn to live with each other!

8 thoughts on “My New House!

  1. Elaine says:

    I’m so happy for you!!! Excited to hear of how God uses you and your friends through this very exciting time of your life. I don’t doubt that this time will be some of your most treasured time of your life, as my mission was mine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tracy Wehby says:

    Can’t wait to follow your story! I hope your roommates are fun and your job is rewarding. This is something you are always going to be proud you did…..Have FUN and be SAFE!!!

    Like

  3. Mom says:

    Yay for the first post from New Orleans! Can’t wait to see how it all unfolds for you and how your life is changed and your faith strengthened through this experience. I love you!

    Like

  4. Shawn says:

    I’m so excited for you Courtney!! I love the pictures! That looks like a wonderful place to call home! I hope you have a fun and safe trip to NY! Take lots of pictures!!

    Like

  5. Barbara Lauver says:

    So glad you decided to be a YAV. I’ sure you’ll have a good experience and learn sooo much. Enjoy NY. Love you. Aunt Barbara

    Like

  6. Linda Connolly says:

    Enjoy all your new experiences and the new friends you will make. Hope you have time to go out and explore New Orleans and the surrounding area. It is beautiful and certainly a change from Arizona. God be with you. Love, Grandma

    Like

Leave a Reply

